2017 Stormwater NSW Awards for Excellence

Stormwater NSW is conducting the 2017 Awards for Excellence to encourage and celebrate excellence in the innovation, development, completion and management of stormwater projects and the people involved.

The 2017 Stormwater NSW Awards for Excellence will be presented during the 2017 Stormwater NSW Conference at the Awards for Excellence Dinner to be held on the evening of Wednesday, 6th September at the Newcastle Museum.  Attendance at the Awards Presentation is preferred but not a requirement of submission.

It should be noted that as part of our continuous improvement approach to Excellence Awards, Stormwater NSW have conducted a review of the of the entry and assessment process and in 2017 an additional Category for ‘Young Stormwater Professional of the Year’ has been added to celebrate the achievements of the future leaders of our industry. 

 Awards for Excellence Submission

Entries for the 2017 Stormwater NSW Awards for Excellence are now invited. Entries are not constrained by project or organisation size and will be judged on their merits. Closing Date for Entries:  COB Monday, 24th July, 2017.

Why Should You Enter?

There are many benefits of winning a Stormwater NSW Award for Excellence, including:

  • Recognition of the Project’s excellence
  • Showcasing and promoting the project, people and organisations involved
  • Demonstrating to all stakeholders that your organisation is a leader in its field
  • Recognising the personal achievements of your staff involved in the project
  • Ongoing promotion including media coverage
  • Having the Award proudly on display within your organisation
  • Providing an example of excellence that can be advocated and promoted elsewhere 
  • Entry to the National Stormwater Awards for Excellence for 2017 – 2018, to be presented at the Stormwater National Awards for Excellence Dinner to be held in Sydney in October 2018.

 Stormwater National Awards for Excellence

Under the Awards for Excellence protocol adopted nationally by Stormwater Australia, only the recipients of the State Awards for Excellence will be eligible for the National Excellence Awards. Therefore, entry of a project into a State Excellence Awards is a minimum prerequisite for entry into the National Awards.

Allowance may be made for recipients of a State Excellence Award to refine their application for national entry based on the judges’ comments and feedback on the State level application. For example, it may be recommended that a criteria response is amended to more clearly demonstrate or emphasise aspects of the project. This will allow the State Association to further support excellence in the local stormwater industry.

The National Awards will be held every two years. The next National Awards will be announced at the Stormwater 2018 National Conference which will be held in Sydney during October, 2018.  The preceding two years of State award winners (2017 and 2018) will be eligible for the National Awards in 2018.

Award Categories

The award categories for the 2017 Awards for Excellence are:

  • Excellence in Strategic or Master Planning.
  • Excellence in Infrastructure.
  • Excellence in Asset Management.
  • Excellence in Research and Innovation.
  • Excellence in Policy or Education.
  • Excellence in Integrated Stormwater Design.
  • Young Stormwater Professional of the Year

There is not a ‘Young Stormwater Professional of the Year’ category at the National Awards so winners will not be eligible for a National Award.

Entries are not constrained by project or organisation size and will be judged on their merits. The entry fee is $350 for Stormwater NSW Members and $550 for Non Members. For more information about the Awards for Excellence and the judging criteria for each category, please download the 2014 Awards for Excellence Kit below.

PDF 2017 Awards for Excellence Kit (download)

To submit your entry for the 2017 Awards for Excellence, please download and complete the Entry Form below.

Word 2017 Awards for Excellence Entry Form (download)


Entries must conform to the submission format, contain all the required information, meet the eligibility requirements and accept the Conditions of Entry. Completed entry forms must be submitted electronically in Microsoft Word format to:

Sarah Padget
GEMS Event Management
Email:  spadget@gemsevents.com.au

Entries must be received by COB Monday, 24th July

Conference Secretariat


For all Conference enquiries, please contact
GEMS Event Management Australia
on +61 2 9744 5252.